We bumped into Darryl at Paleo F(x) in Texas – and when we say bumped into, we mean avoided being thrown over his shoulders and carried across the hall! You’d never believe that before founding the Primal Play movement, Darryl was suffering from the effects of poor diet and a sedentary lifestyle. He needed to change is lifestyle in order to avoid medications – and what a change he made…

What’s your story?

I worked as a technologist in investment banking for almost 2 decades and suffered from a poor diet, lack of sleep, chronic stress and a sedentary lifestyle. I had health issues including being pre-diabetic, suffering from high-blood pressure and an elevated cardiovascular disease risk. I didn’t want to take any pharmaceuticals such as metformin or statins because of concerns about the side effects. I was able to avoid the meds back in the mid 2000s just by changing my lifestyle and have continued to do so until the present day.

What came first for you, Paleo food or Paleo fitness?

From the point of view of changing my lifestyle they occurred simultaneously. I realised that diet alone wasn’t enough and that movement and physical activity were just as key to improve my health and vitality. A sedentary life increases the risks of chronic disease as does poor nutrition.

What’s the premise behind Primal Play?

Primal Play came about because of a need to focus on primal, instinctive, natural movements we were designed to do, but also to ensure we are also having more fun while doing so. Exercise shouldn’t be seen as a chore or punishing ourselves for poor dietary choices the day before. We should all reclaim the enjoyment of movement we experienced as children.

You say you get to work with children from 4 to 94…who are the most fun?